DNA must apply for RE-DESIGNATION

Dear DNA Member

DNA must apply for re-designation as our initial five years designation expires in mid-February 2021.

Deptford Neighbourhood Action was designated by Lewisham Council’s ex-Mayor Steve Bullock in February 2016. Neighbourhood Forums who haven’t completed the Neighbourhood Planning Process within 5 years have to apply for re-designation. Due to an 8 month funding delay from Locality in 2018, and the communities within Deptford being devastated by COVID and lockdown restrictions, the Deptford Neighbourhood Plan has taken longer than we expected to get to completion.

DNA is nearly at the end of this neighbourhood planning process. The consultation on the Draft Plan via the survey – which you will have received, should be completed by mid February. The Neighbourhood Plan is then sent to Lewisham Council who will publicise it for 6 weeks. After that, the Plan is assessed by an Independent Planning Inspector, before going to a Public Referendum – voted on by residents who live in the DNA Neighbourhood Plan Area. If passed, it will sit underneath the Lewisham Local Plan which Lewisham are themselves consulting on at the moment.

The DNA Neighbourhood Plan has to be in line with Local Planning Policy (Lewisham’s Local Plan); Regional Planning Policy (The London Plan) and the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF).

As a DNA member we are contacting you today to ask you to support the re-designation. Lewisham Council have asked us to provide an up to list of all DNA members, and we are obliged to pass this information on to the Council with our application. The Council will use your name, status of membership of DNA (i.e. whether you live, work or volunteer in Deptford) and your street name in support of the re-designation.

If you do not wish to support the re-Designation please let us know by 31st January 2021. DNA will be sending in the Re-Designation Application on Monday 1st February 2021.

Thank you in anticipation of your support.

Best wishes

Joyce Jacca
DNA Chair
On behalf of the DNA Steering Committee